Dog Days

Isn’t it strange how some things don’t change, and can connect us across centuries? Visiting the British Museum on one of the hottest days of the year, I was drawn to this Roman dog statue. It looked as fresh as any contemporary statue, just a hound being a hound. You could almost feel the heat of his breath and the texture of his fur.

Dog statue ink

There was no sitting room, so I stood in the sweltering gallery to capture him.ย  Before I even started I found myself ‘drawing’ the outline in the air over the paper, trying to get a feel for proportion and positioning. Using white pen ensures I look twice, or three times, before drawing, as all marks and mistakes are committed and irreversible. I like the fact that I’m initially forced to be very considered, but that once I’ve committed to the lines I can stop worrying so much and get lost in the shading, which is also a buzz as, in a reverse to the usual order of things, it’s a case of adding highlights and mid-tones rather than darks. It’s got to be good for the brain, surely?

4 thoughts on “Dog Days

    • Thank you Michael, I did take a bit of a deep breath before diving in. The BM does its drawbacks – it’s so busy – but I think the variety compensates. And if you’ve already singled something out, what could be better? I look forward to seeing your Chinese pot when the moment is right. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

