Lost my Marbles

When I set up this dessert bowl of marbles I was ensnared by the translucency of the glass, the vibrancy of the colours and the downright deliciousness of the whole thing. The sun was shining in through the window, lighting everything up, a painter’s dream, I thought.

Marbles watercolour

I had been given some beautiful Golden QoR watercolours which I wanted to test out, and I reckoned this would be a wonderful opportunity to see their intensity and vibrancy (I had previously been using W&N).

What I had in my head was so different to what emerged on the paper! With hindsight, maybe I might have been better off working larger so that I could be more free – this picture is only about A5 size. I didn’t entirely manage to capture the colourful lights and transparency, although viewing this in retrospect there are a few areas where I feel I had some success. It turned out a bit of a mixed bag (or bowl). However, the paints themselves were splendid, vibrant and punchy where needed, and it was a joy to be squeezing out a tube of intense colour rather than scribbling around in a half-pan as I normally do. They’ll be coming out to play again.

13 thoughts on “Lost my Marbles

  1. Lovely bowl too, you certainly set yourself a challenge! You’re making me think I ought to think about getting some new tube watercolours. Perhaps my watercolours come out muddy because my little set is all muddy? What colours do you use? I have a list somewhere of Kestrelart’s and I love the colours Barry Comer uses (I think you follow both). I’m a bit tight so may not buy them all at once!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure about the muddiness, my travel set is also somewhat scrambled which seems inevitable to be honest. The Golden QoR set I used here has 6 colours in 5ml tubes: Cerulean Blue Chromium; Ultramarine; Perm Alizarin Crimson; Pyrrole Red Light; Burnt Sienna; and Indian Yellow. It seems a pretty flexible colour set. Yes, I do follow both those blogs, and enjoy their very different approaches. And I too am a bit tight! But sometimes, I guess, it’s good to splash out a little – or persuade someone else to, for a birthday maybe? πŸ˜‰ I look forward to hearing what you go for…and seeing the results. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your marbles! ❀ Not an easy subject to paint but I think you did fabulous Rebecca! 😊 I had a calico cat named, Marbles one time. She had such a personality! She would stretch out on lineoleum with her back legs behind her to cool off her tummy in the summertime. I rarely see a cat do this – mostly dogs. Lol! πŸ˜„ Such a good memory. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

