Sketchy

Oh, I’m a bad blogger…I’ve been doing some sketches, just haven’t been posting recently. Hey ho, that’s the way it goes sometimes.

Anyway couple of weeks ago my husband and I visited our staple in times of waiting for the car to be serviced; King’s Lynn Museum. It boasts a small but eclectic collection of interesting artefacts. This time I chose two rather contrasting subjects, each with their own set of challenges for my tiny 3x3in ‘funsize’ sketchbook.

First up, a diving helmet. Why not? I liked the spheres and ovals, and thought this would be a good challenge to do straight into pen. Oh yes, definitely a challenge. And the paper wasn’t very happy about the amount of Tombow shading I wanted to lay onto the sketch. But I enjoyed the process of wrestling with this one.

diving-helmet-ink%c2%a7

Having time for just one more little sketchette, I finally opted for this traditional shiny black telephone, which reminded me of my grandma’s phone when I was very little. Blimey, it was harder than it looked, full of subtle curves and concentric layered circles. Gulp. The shiny surface gave me some problems, as I was trying to shade with cross-hatching, which really didn’t work very well, so I ended up with a mish-mash of shading. Don’t look too carefully.

old-phone-ink

But all in all it was a good sketching session, and very nice to have a pen in hand for a small drawing or two after all the acrylic painting recently.

 

18 thoughts on “Sketchy

  1. Great stuff with some novel and challenging items! Those deep sea diving helmets always make me smile – I think it’s the idea of peering out the little window. That’s probably just me, though. πŸ˜›

    And I second Margaret’s sentiment re your postings – a joy whenever they can come!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Jacob, thank you! πŸ™‚ The helmets look so Heath Robinson, don’t they? I need to look up what the ear grilles are for though…they didn’t seem to make any sense to me at all! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a bad blogger at all. Quality over quantity and all that!
    Love those old diving helmets. My ex has one! Not sure if it’s proper antique or reproduction, though. They don’t look very comfortable..or safe….but this is mostly why they’re fascinating! And that phone reminds me of one my parents had when i was a kid. Isn’t it strange how time transforms the mundane into curiosities/ collectors items/ museum artifacts, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • πŸ™‚ You’re right; time’s definitely a strange transformer and distorter. I for one know I’m definitely not as old as time suggests… If I had a diving helmet I think would put a skull inside it, with a light inside that, and have it on a pedestal in my bathroom (that would, of course, be my palatial marble-columned dream bathroom, not the tiny, boring one which reality has provided). πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, absolutely a distorter! Today I realised that I’m not actually old, it’s just that we live in a very youthcentric culture. Anyone not a teen or twentysomething is regardless as “old”, and it’s ridonkulous.
        Ooh, a palatial bathroom with a glowing skull wearing an olde diving helmet! Yes, i like that imagery!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

