Viv Again

This painting has been brewing in my mind for quite some weeks, but finding time to actually get it onto canvas has been the sticking point. However, yesterday I finally knuckled down to it. Viv is one of the lovely ladies I do yoga with, and she’d kindly volunteered to have her photo taken so that I could practice portrait painting with ‘real’ people.

I’d done the under-drawing a few days before, and was quite pleased with it. So much so that it took quite a lot of courage to pick up the paintbrush and get started in paint, for fear of wrecking the whole thing. I had to remind myself that learning was the whole point of the exercise, and that sometimes mistakes just have to happen.

viv-underdrawing

Which was just as well, because I then realised that I’d neglected to underpaint before making my drawing. Well, I wasn’t about to redraw the whole thing, so I decided to work with it as it was, and that did cause me some trouble. Underpainting would have made life quite a bit easier. I’ll try and remember that for next time!

A second note to self is that portraits seem to be harder (for me) when they are smaller – this one is 12×10 ins, which means small brushes. On reflection, I don’t think I like that very much – there’s so much pleasure to be able to make a big, sweeping stroke rather than a fiddly little tweak. So, next time I will go bigger.

Anyway. I began with the background, figuring that might give a better time with the hair. Next in line was the skin; it was evident that I’d learned a lot about skin tones in the previous portrait of Gill so the process wasn’t quite as scary as it could have been, although finding the right shades and colours is always a big challenge. Eyes and hair next – I do enjoy putting the eyes in, it seems to be when the picture takes on a life of its own. The hair was surprisingly tricky – how to make that elusive grey-blonde?

viv-acrylics

And then finally, the t-shirt. Oh dear. In real life this garment was black with a yellow collar and white geometric line design. The latter was never going to happen! I bottled out completely. But my excuse is that it allows the viewer to focus more on the face. Sneaky, eh?

There are two things I will change on this before I show it to Viv: the line between her face and the background on the right hand side needs tidying up, and the right shoulder needs to be narrower. Hopefully these will be fairly straightforward fixes. In summary, I’m pretty pleased with this one – I think it does bear a resemblance to Viv, and I hope she will think so too.

20 thoughts on “Viv Again

  1. I think she will love it! Good on ya for taking the risk of painting over the drawing. I’m a bit of a chickenshit when it comes to that sorta thing…honestly, if it were me, i would’ve taken the wimpy way out and photocopied the drawing first, just in case. But clearly that’s not necessary in your case, so bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: New Year, New Gear | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

