Preparing for Gill

Challenge No. 3 with Andy is now on the cards, and this time it will be a portrait of my friend Gill. Since I found doing a preliminary study very useful in the last challenge, I have had a first stab at the picture for this time.

Gill study ink.JPG

I’m not sure this one does Gill any favours, but it has shown me some areas that I will need to work harder at when it comes to producing the painting in acrylic on Monday (eek!).

The aim will be to produce a ‘realistic’ portrait, and that means getting to grips with flesh tones. A few minutes spent this afternoon practicing mixing the acrylics reminded me how difficult flesh, especially in shadow, can be to paint.

Flesh tones acrylic.JPG

It’s plain from this photo that the camera has struggled in the artificial light, making everything even yellower than it was, but nevertheless, I have a feeling that this mixing chart is going to be very useful in the heat of the moment on Monday.

 

9 thoughts on “Preparing for Gill

  1. how exciting! I like how you are prepping for doing an acrylic portrait. I really like your portrait of your friend, very artsy. I have decided I am going to draw figures on-line and from my large scale tv. I am excited, hopefully it will be a good alternative to real live figure drawing, we’ll see. Looking forward to your next posts. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Margaret! I think you’ve planned a really interesting project, and it’s one I’ve been considering too. I’d love to see how you get on, and whether you set yourself a time limit, etc. Should be lots of fun, and it’s free! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Still a great idea! I should do this type of challenge too. For colour mixing, check out Paul Foxton, he is awesome and posts some truly remarkable videos on his site about colour mixing – remarkable because he is so generous with his hard won knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sophie – I’d recommend it to anyone! And thank you for recommending Paul Foxton, these videos look excellent and I’ll no doubt be able to learn loads from them. The only trouble will be finding time to watch! šŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you, I’m glad you like the approach – I had to get a little creative as the ink from the brushpen was a bit too dense for what I wanted, but I nevertheless like the feel of its flow. Hence the hatching to lighten up areas. I have to confirm that the challenges are indeed a lot of fun! šŸ™‚

      Like

    • Oh Jill, that’s very kind of you to say, but I am really on tenterhooks for the challenge. I think a lot of wrestling with the picture will be involved! (But hey, that’s where the fun is). šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Challenge No. 3 | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

