Cascade

On Friday my husband and I were stranded in town waiting for the car to be serviced. The plan had been to do some urban sketching, but the weather turned so chilly that neither of us found the prospect appealing. Instead, we found a haven in the King’s Lynn Library, that wonderful refuge for both the curious and the confused.

After a quick scoot around in search of a ‘view’ I was attracted to this amazing waterfall of a begonia. The light from the window was illuminating the blood-red  reverse of its leaves, yet glancing off the green surfaces.

Begonia watercolour

I used a sepia fineliner to sketch out the shapes, and then dabbled with the watercolours. There was a lack of definition to each leaf at this stage, so I used a sepia brush tip pen to add a little more emphasis. Lastly, I used a flat brush to lift out some paint to indicate the veins on the leaves.

I’m not sure how I feel about this picture. I like the shapes and the cascade effect, but I would have loved to have achieved more colour impact, to better convey the glowing red undersides of the leaves. Maybe I could have used acrylics or  Tombows, but at the end of the day, when you’re sketching out and about, you must work with what you have brought!

20 thoughts on “Cascade

    • Yes, when we can, although I have more sketching time than him. He’s rather shy about his sketches as he only started in 2014, but he’s making fast progress. It’s fun going out together and seeing the different choices we make on what and how to sketch. 🙂

      Like

  1. How lovely to have someone to share your creative time with. My husband has zero interest in art but endures galleries and exhibitions as long as there is a coffee shop at the end! Great painting, I love the colours that you have used.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, coffee is always a good bribe…;) I do think I’m very lucky that he’s interested in sketching too. It makes for some nice times together, but conversation can be in short supply as we both tend to be concentrating hard! I’m glad you like the painting – thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment