Costume Drama

My last little picture done at the V&A museum last weekend was made in the Fashion gallery, my last port of call before wending my way homeward. It’s one of the busiest galleries, and displays a selection of European fashion throughout the last centuries.

When I saw a free bench in front of one of the display cases, I nabbed it. It was lovely to have a proper seat; the downside was that the lighting throughout the gallery was extremely dim to preserve the delicate fabrics.

In front of me were some 18th Century co-ordinated accessories, definitely made for a rich and discerning customer. These had evidently been treasured throughout their owner’s lifetime, and many more lifetimes before being put on display for us. The same coral-coloured floral damask fabric was used for the shoes and hat, and the corset was also co-ordinated. I didn’t have time to sketch the dress, but you can probably imagine that it was equally patterned and frou-frou.

C18th costume chinagraph

I whisked out my pastel pad, a graphite pencil, white and black chinagraphs, and a deep coral Conte pastel. It was rather frustrating working in the very dim light, as I couldn’t really tell what effects I was getting, particularly with the white, so a lot of it was guesswork. Also, I would have liked to have achieved finer lines, but the chinagraphs and pastel had other ideas. But, on the plus side, I quite like how the pastel colour on the textured paper seems to suggest damask, without adding any detailed patterning.

I’m sure the young lady who originally owned these items would have been astonished to find out how many people have appreciated them since she last wore her outfit!

10 thoughts on “Costume Drama

    • Thanks Michael, it is a bit daunting; sometimes you feel like another exhibit! I’ve never been to the Ashmolean, but from the webpage it looks like an excellent sketching venue. I’m rather envious…:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

