December’s Herald

Can you believe it’s nearly December? This year seems to have flown by, accelerating as it passed. This morning we were back at music school, and during my 30 minutes of sketch time I got my eye on the percussion box; nestling inside were these funny little sleigh bells. I had to smile that one of the little clappers had been replaced by a metal bead on a bit of bent wire, a nice example of make do and mend. Somehow, having a go at drawing them seemed appropriate – and before I started I realised that it would not be without its challenges. However, nothing ventured, nothing gained, they say.

Silver Bells Ink and TombowsAs so often on a Saturday, I used the black fineliner and Tombow combo. The silvery grey of the bells gave me a problem which I solved with rather a lot of blue, but that was amusing to do. The bell shapes were also not without difficulties, which is why this sketch has ended up rather close to the right hand edge of the paper. Well, the best laid plans… My favourite part of this sketch is the shadow under the handle, which just went on easily today.

24 thoughts on “December’s Herald

  1. Rebecca I keep alternating between excitement and panic that December is nearly upon us!
    Your drawing of the bells is brilliant, I can imagine the difficulties that you faced with such a tricky subject! The reflection on the metal is amazing and the shadow is spot on 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Rebecca, what a wonderful sketch of the bells. Your color choices are perfect. The Tombows add such versatility to our paintings and drawings. I’m using mine this morning.
    I guess all we can do is step into December with gusto!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sharon – I do think that the Tombows help with narrowing down the options too, making the colour decisions a little simpler. I look forward to seeing your next picture too! December here we come… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just hear those sleigh bells jinglin’… and so on πŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t have been able to resist a jingle or two – too tempting. Marvellous painting – the reflections on the bells are beautiful.

    I can’t believe it’s December either. I’m sure the other day it was 2014!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Carol – they’re bluebells! (see what I did there?) πŸ˜‰ . I think the Tombows are really helping me to be a bit less literal and more adventurous with colour, which is a big step forward for me. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

