‘Tis the Season

Summer’s here! I say this with confidence, despite the iffy weather, since we’ve had our first strawberries from the garden. For the next couple of weeks, it will be strawberries with everything. And so, to celebrate, here’s one to share.

I began with the background wash, and tried to do a better job on it than I’ve been doing recently. Still a mixed success, but my biggest wobble was wondering if I’d made a mistake in my colour choices. However, now all the other colours are in it seems to hang together ok. I tried to put some texture into the wash under the strawberry by pushing the hard end of my brush into the damp paper and pulling it to make what I hoped would look a bit like wood grain. I wasn’t careful enough as I did this, and I don’t think it really worked. I’ll have to try something else next time.

Strawberry watercolourShowing the texture of the strawberry was the main challenge – how to put the seeds in? I opted to suggest seeds by masking out some small dots, and then to stipple in red and purply watercolour onto a wet orange background. When I removed the masking fluid I felt that some of the areas were now too white, so I pulled a little of the surrounding colour over them using a damp paintbrush, which did the trick of toning them down.

Anyway, it must be time now to go and eat more strawberries…

16 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. It’s good to know you’ve found one that doesn’t also contain a slug or woodlouse (which is what usually happens with ours, when they start to ripen)….and indeed they (the strawberries) should look just as appetizing as your painting. Hope you’ll enjoy a massive crop!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, thanks Chris! We have strawberry beetles, but they don’t usually get going until the crop is in full swing… all the more reason to eat as many berries as possible now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

