Struggles with Freesias

Freesias watercolourI really like Freesias. But this picture really was full of issues. I was trying to get the paint to be a little freer than I normally allow, and I had an idea for a graduated wash background. It all went a bit pear-shaped.

The flowers aren’t so bad in themselves; in places the purple petal edges are really nice, although I think overall the flowers don’t have enough contrast. I had trouble deciding what colour the darks in the yellow flowers were, and I still think they look rather flat, as do the purple ones too.

It was when I came to put the wash on that everything got really difficult. I’d mixed up some Payne’s Grey with Winsor Green, hoping to suggest dark foliage behind. But I used the wrong brush to apply it – being lazy, I used the large round brush I’d painted the flowers with, rather than swapping to a mop. The paint didn’t go on evenly, and when I tried to correct the grading I ended up with the bleeds and runs, and a big, unsightly blotch of darker paint towards the bottom edge. Curses! In the end I decided not to fiddle with the paint any further. Another one to put down to experience (I’m getting quite a lot of those!).

16 thoughts on “Struggles with Freesias

  1. I agree with Tori you have a great sense of colour and your palettes are always pleasing to the eye. I like how the wash turned out on the left side of the painting.

    I’m wondering if you ever considered bringing your watercolours into a digital painting program to experiment with atmospheric effects? It might work for this painting to blend out the background a bit with a gradient tool to make the foreground colours pop out more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Zhangah, I’m especially flattered as I still feel quite new to colour and have been trying to get to grips with it… nice to know it’s working!

      I’m tempted by your suggestion about digital effects, and I’m sure you’re right that it might fix the background here. I’m a novice when it comes to digital image manipulation. I have GIMP on the computer, but I don’t really know how to use it – just got to make time and knuckle down! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can totally relate to you in terms of trying to find the time to experiment with all the tools (traditional or digital) available to artists today. It’s kind of nuts! I remember a while back you created some pastel drawings on the iPad. I can’t remember which app you used but if have time Procreate is a great app for painting and editing Any ways, I’m always amazed by the number of lovely paintings you share each week and as always look forward to seeing more.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for the tip – I’ll have a look (I was using a free app called Brushes). You’re right, it’s a big world, with so many choices. We’re so lucky! And thanks for the lovely compliment too πŸ™‚ .

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

