Gone Fishing

I had a ‘free’ morning today. My son was off with his Grandad learning about bee-keeping, my husband was on a bike ride, so my Mum and I went sketching. We decided we wanted to paint water, so made our way to our local fishing ponds. Although there was a fishing match on, we were lucky enough to find an unoccupied bay with a decent view, and installed ourselves. The day started very overcast, but over the course of the hour, the sun did manage to break through a little and the light improved. The view was especially nice when the sun hit the dried reeds, which are a striking pale straw against the backdrop. As we painted, a Canada goose family with five tiny, fluffy, goslings swam over to see if we had anything good to eat. We didn’t, so they soon paddled away, but it was delightful to see them.

Fishing lake watercolourI laid down a wash for the sky and the water, then some large areas of green for foliage. After that I concentrated on adding some texture and depth. I currently have a problem with my masquepen (it’s totally bunged up and I haven’t got round to trying to free it), so I made big efforts to reserve the white paper where the reeds were. I’d have liked to have made a better job of the background trees, but I actually quite enjoy how the reeds worked.

It’s funny, but just taking a photograph of the sketch and reviewing it shows how it needs to change, more than just looking at the picture itself. Maybe it’s because the photograph always seems to lose some of the subtlety and luminosity of the original… Anyway, I think I might try to lift out some of the dark line in the top level of trees at the back, which I don’t like – it sticks out like a sore thumb. So, another landscape experience under my belt, and quite a lot learned (again).

4 thoughts on “Gone Fishing

  1. It’s interesting that you mention that you find changes you would make from the photograph versus the actual painting. I have found the same thing with my drawings, and often I will revisit a drawing after I have looked at the photographed version. I wonder why that is exactly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fascinating to hear you find this too! Maybe a photo provides a new perspective, or a different view of the whole scene? I know that, when I look at the original picture, my eye roves around to different areas of interest, but when I see a smaller photographed version I can take in the whole thing at once. The major points or inaccuracies seem to jump out much more readily at this point. Perhaps there’s an argument to say we might benefit from photographing and analysing at different stages of a picture’s development in order to get a better perspective? Or maybe that would make the process too scientific and take the fun out of it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

