On the Wire

Looking out of my living room window for inspiration, I got my eye on this confusion of telephone wires. The pigeons and collared doves often sit on them when waiting for our neighbour to put out birdseed, as the view is perfect.

I chose tTelegraph wire birds inko use blue/black Windsor & Newton water-soluble Calligraphy ink for this little sketch, on Aquafine paper. I can’t work out why this ink is advertised as calligraphic rather than for drawing, as it seems to behave very nicely with a brush and water. The details were put in before the wash using a black UniPin permanent fineliner.

I’m irritated with myself because I couldn’t wait to start, and so made up the birds instead of observing them carefully from life (it wasn’t feeding time!).  However, I do really like the illustrative feel of the sky, the wires and the pole.

This ink medium is just lovely, slightly unpredictable but very atmospheric.

5 thoughts on “On the Wire

Leave a Reply

