Inky Dinky Experiment

Inky dinky landscapes

I’ve been to the art shop today and came away with something new to play with – a little bottle of Windsor & Newton water-soluble Black Indian Ink. At somewhat under £4 it didn’t break the bank, which was definitely a plus. I couldn’t wait to get home!

While dinner was cooking, I rustled up some watercolour paper and set to with a brush. It took a couple of very odd doodlings to get an inkling(!) of how to make the ink run. Given liberal amounts of clean water applied to the paper before adding any ink in with a fine brush, I managed to get an exciting and rather unpredictable effect I really like. These super-quick, tiny experimental pictures (about 2 x 3ins each) remind me of landscape agates. Full of potential! I think this will warrant more experiments soon. Hurray!

2 thoughts on “Inky Dinky Experiment

Leave a Reply

