Wheely Difficult

Wheelbarrow watercolourUp early this morning, and out sketching in the sunny garden with my husband. We have an old-school metal wheelbarrow which has been patiently rusting away in all weathers for years. It seemed a good choice for a bit of drawing and watercolour practice.

I don’t think I’ve ever looked carefully at a wheelbarrow before. It’s not as simple a tool as you might imagine – there are all kinds of planes and angles you’d never suspect. Until you sit down to draw one.

The handles and wheel in particular gave me difficulty. I only had 45 minutes available, and would have liked to have spent more time on this. I rushed the colours, and maybe they would benefit from more work. Sometimes it can be hard to find the single-mindedness you need for a picture if you’ve got a niggling thought in the back of your mind that you need to be somewhere else soon.

In real life, the picture overall gives a much ‘greener’ impression than this photo suggests. I enjoyed experimenting with Cobalt Blue in the shadows. Normally I’m addicted to Payne’s Grey, but there was so much vivid colour today that I felt it called for something bolder. It certainly changed the look.

… A pause for thought…

Wheelbarrow watercolour 3So, I’ve been off and made some adjustments to this picture, darkening up some of the areas. and adding in some Windsor Blue in the shadows. It looks less fresh, but I’m happier with the contrasts of the shadows. I think I’d better stop now!

7 thoughts on “Wheely Difficult

  1. Nice little painting….your barrow is in better order than mine. 🙂 I like the fact that you tackle a number of media, it allows for a wide range of creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to hear my barrow might still have a couple of years in it! Thanks so much for the encouragement. I’m a bit of a media butterfly, just do what I fancy, when I fancy… this method might not be best for technique, but it keeps me happy 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

