Travelling Light(ish)

Travelling kit My travelling kit for watercolour sketching hasn’t changed too much since I first started outdoors in 2012.

My trusty Windsor & Newton paintbox goes in a zippable plastic bag, alongside three brushes of varying grades, a pencil, sharpener, putty rubber, waterbrush, fine permanent fibretip pen, sponge and water pen. I’ve usually also got a bottle of drinking water with me anyway, which doubles as painting water which I decant into a small plastic pot. A couple of pieces of kitchen roll are useful, and if space and weight are no object I’ll also include water-soluble coloured pencils – because you never know! I’ve yet to learn the art of true minimalism.

Add to this kit the watercolour pad, and I’m ready. I have to admit that choosing a pad is difficult, because I normally don’t know what will take my fancy during the course of the trip. I generally go for a Bockingford or Montval, as I like the texture. Paper size can be tricky too; A6 to A4 are fine, but any bigger and it won’t fit in the backpack. Good to go – just the slight matter of capturing a picture remains!

Leave a Reply

